Thursday, June 4, 2009

Oh Canada!

Seeing the lineup for Canada Day celebrations on the hill makes me feel quite patriotic.

From the CBC:
Ottawa's National Capital Commission announced the musical lineup Thursday
for the city's July 1, 2009 Canada Day celebrations.

At the top of the bill for the Parliament Hill show are Juno winner
Sarah McLachlan, country singer Shane Yellowbird, and rapper K'Naan. ...

Here's a list of when the musicians from across the country will perform in Ottawa:
(a few notable indie acts will be in bold)

Parliament Hill — noon show (begins at 12 p.m. ET)
Sarah McLachlan (British Columbia).
Shane Yellowbird (Alberta).
Gregory Charles (Quebec).
Les Respectables (Quebec) with Gordie Johnson (Manitoba).
Marie-Jo Therio (New Brunswick).
Marie-Mai (Quebec).
Hannah Georgas (Ontario) and Said the Whale (British Columbia).
DRUM! (Nova Scotia).

Parliament Hill — evening show (begins at 7:30 p.m. ET)
Sarah McLachlan (British Columbia) — pop.
Chic Gamine (Manitoba).
Shane Yellowbird (Alberta) and Cassiopee (Quebec) — country.
Les Respectables (Quebec) with Gordie Johnson (Manitoba) — rock.
Marie-Jo Therio (New Brunswick) — pop.
Marie-Mai (Quebec) — rock.
K'Naan (Ontario) — hip hop/world music.
Said the Whale (British Columbia) with Hannah Georgas (Ontario) — indie pop.
Cirque Fantastic Concept (Quebec) — circus arts.
Nico Archambault (Quebec) — dance.
Alex Wells (British Columbia) — hoop dancer.
CassiopĂ©e (Quebec) — soprano soloist.
Chic Gamine (Man.) — Roots.
The Canadian Tenors (Ontario) — Classical and contemporary pop.

Major's Hill Park — noon show (from 12 p.m. to 5 p.m. ET)
Caridad Cruz (Quebec).
David Myles (New Brunswick).
DRUM! (Nova Scotia) – world rhythms.
The CBC Songwriter Circle featuring the Six String Nation Guitar.
Julie Doiron (New Brunswick).
Justin Rutledge (Ontario).
The Sojourners (British Columbia).
Maybe Smith (Saskatchewan).

Major's Hill Park — evening show (from 6 p.m. to 10 p.m. ET)
The Sojourners (British Columbia) — roots.
Dominique Reynolds (Manitoba) — pop.
Alex Cuba (British Columbia) — Latin, pop, soul.
Ellen McIlwain (Alberta) — blues.
DRUM! (Nova Scotia) — world rhythms.

Jacques-Cartier Park (from 5 p.m. to 10 p.m. ET)
IMA (Quebec) — pop.
Radio Radio (New Brunswick) — Acadian hip hop.
David Jalbert (Quebec) folk, pop.
Beast (Quebec) — electronic.
Julie Doiron (New Brunswick) — folk, pop.
Marie-Pierre Arthur (Quebec) — folk, rock.

Confederation Park (Ottawa Jazz Festival) (daytime)
Amanda Tosoff (British Columbia).
Michael Kaeshammer (Alberta).
Bell Orchestre (Quebec).
Gypsophilia (Nova Scotia).
Carmen Souza (Ontario).
Coeur de Pirate (Quebec).
The Worst Pop Band Ever (Ontario and Quebec).
Jazz Youth Summit.