Tuesday, July 6, 2010

Polaris Prize short list

The Polaris Prize 2010 shortlist:

The Besnard Lakes (The Besnard Lakes Are the Roaring Night)
Broken Social Scene (Forgiveness Rock)
Caribou (Swim)
Karkwa (Les Chemins De Verre)
Dan Mangan (Nice, Nice, Very Nice)
Owen Pallett (Heartland)
Radio Radio (Belmundo Regal)
The Sadies (Darker Circles)
Shad (TSOL)
Tegan & Sara (Sainthood)

I'm FIRMLY in the Shad camp. A big congratulations to all nominees!

Some Short List facts:
Two artists have won Polaris previously:

Owen Pallet (Final Fantasy) - He Poos Clouds in 2006.
Caribou - Andorra in 2008.
Five artists have made the Short List previously. They are:

The Besnard Lakes (2007)
Broken Social Scene (2006)
Caribou (2008)
Owen Pallett (2006)
Shad (2008)
Five have not. They are:

Dan Mangan
Radio Radio
The Sadies
Tegan And Sara

Two artists, Karkwa and Radio Radio, sing or rap in French.

One, Radio Radio, is Acadian.

A jury of 198 music journalists, broadcasters and bloggers from across Canada submitted their top five picks for best Canadian album released between June 1, 2009 and May 31, 2010. These picks were narrowed down to a Long List of 40 which was made public June 17, 2010. A Grand Jury of 11 members will be specially selected to convene and determine this year’s winner on location at the Polaris gala.

The gala is Monday, September 20th. It will be exclusively broadcast live to North America on SIRIUS Satellite Radio 86 and to the world on CBC Radio 3. The event will be at at CTV’s Concert Hall studios at Toronto’s Masonic Temple and will feature live performances by this year’s Short List nominees. It will be webcast live on MuchMusic.com and broadcast on MuchMusic, Saturday, Sept. 25th at 9 p.m. and midnight ET.