Tuesday, August 10, 2010

2010 Western Canadian Music Awards : Nominees include Dan Mangan, You Say Party, The Weakerthans and more!

BreakOut West is proud to announce the nominees for the 2010 Western Canadian Music Awards. The awards will be presented in Kelowna on Sunday October 24th, and for the first time in their eight year history, they will be broadcast in English on CBC Television and in French on Radio Canada. Vancouver B.C.’s Chilliwack will receive this year’s Hall Of Fame Award the same evening while The Industry Awards will be presented on Saturday October 23rd. BreakOut West runs from October 21st to 24th, 2010.

Some earbuds & ticket stubs favourites are nominated this year, including Vancouver's own Dan Mangan, up for 3 separate awards, You Say Party's latest XXXX, my favourite haunt Biltmore Cabaret, amongst many others.

The Western Canadian Music Award 2010 Nominees - for the full list of categories and nominees, go to the BreakOut West website.

Library Voices
Country Recording of the Year
Doc Walker – Go - MB
Shane Chisholm - Hitchhiking Buddha - AB
Shane Yellowbird - It's About Time - AB
Six West - Beautiful Something – B.C.
Whiskey Jane - Things Left Unsaid – B.C.

Independent Album of the Year
Colin James - Rooftops and Satellites - B.C.
Corb Lund - Losin' Lately Gambler - AB
Dan Mangan - Nice, Nice, Very Nice - B.C.
Dojo Workhorse - Weapons Grade Romantic - AB
Library Voices - Denim On Denim - SK

Grand Analog - Metropolis Is Burning
Pop Recording of the Year
Laurell - Can't Stop Falling - B.C.
Maurice - Young People With Faces - B.C.
Michael Bernard Fitzgerald - The MBF Love LP - AB
Quinzy - Self-Defense - MB
The Latency - The Latency - B.C.

Rap/Hip Hop Recording of the Year
Cityreal - The Beginning - B.C.
Def 3 and Factor – Drumbo - SK
Grand Analog - Metropolis Is Burning - MB
The Lytics - The Lytics - MB

You Say Party - XXXX
Rock Recording of the Year
Bif Naked - The Promise - B.C.
Said the Whale - Islands Disappear - B.C.
The Dudes - Blood Guts Bruises Cuts - AB
The Weakerthans - Live at the Burton Cummings Theatre - MB
Yukon Blonde - Yukon Blonde - B.C.
You Say Party – XXXX - B.C.

Roots Duo/Group Recording of the Year
Annie Lou - Annie Lou - Y
Carolyn Mark & NQ Arbuckle - Let's Just Stay Here - B.C.
Dustin Bentall - Six Shooter - B.C.
The Sojourners - The Sojourners - B.C.
The Wailin' Jennys - Live at the Mauch Chunk Opera House - MB

Dan Mangan
Roots Solo Recording of the Year
Corb Lund - Losin' Lately Gambler - AB
Dan Mangan - Nice, Nice, Very Nice - B.C.
Del Barber - Where the City Ends - MB
Gordie Tentrees - Mercy or Sin - Y
John Wort Hannam - Queen's Hotel - AB

Songwriter of the Year
Colin James - B.C.
Corb Lund - AB
Dan Mangan - B.C.
Doc Walker (Chris Thorsteinson, Dave Wasyliw, and Murray Pulver) - MB
Dustin Bentall - B.C.
The Weakerthans (John K Samson and The Weakerthans) - MB

Best Album Design of the Year
Brooke Nelson - Where the City Ends (Del Barber)
Craig Medwyduk (Guppy Design ) - In The Lonesome Hours (Oh My Darling)
Michael Carroll and Greg Smith - Live At The Burton Cummings Theatre (The Weakerthans)
Michelle Zieske - Washed Out Roads (Patrick Keenan)
Ron Sawchuk - Live At The Mauch Chunk Opera House (The Wailin' Jennys)
Skylar Challand - Denim on Denim (Library Voices)

Independent Record Label of the Year
Arbor Records - MB
Black Hen Music - B.C.
Mint Records - B.C.
On Ramp Records - SK
Stony Plain Records - AB

The Biltmore Cabaret
Live Music Venue of the Year
Biltmore Cabaret - B.C.
Starlite Room - AB
The Commodore Ballroom - B.C.
The Habitat - B.C.
West End Cultural Centre - MB

For more information on BreakOut West Festival and Conference and The Western Canadian Music Awards including the upcoming announcement of this year’s Festival performers and the performers for The Western Canadian Music Awards please visit: www.breakoutwest.ca